Skip to content

Entry Level Driver Training

Access from anywhere, anytime

What's Changing

Effective February 7, 2022, entry-level driver training (ELDT) requirements set by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration will change for those who want to obtain or upgrade a commercial driver’s license. Under the new regulations, these drivers will be required to go through classroom instruction and skills training provided by a certified instructor/company.

Team Safe Trucking logo

Team Safe Trucking

NDMCA is providing the State of North Dakota with Team Safe Trucking’s Entry Level Driver Theory Training Program for Class A drivers.

Team Safe Trucking is a registered provider of ELDT theory training nationwide and meets all the required curricula now required by the FMCSA and North Dakota DOT.

The curriculum will consist of all the topics required under the new requirements. Classes are online and can be accessed from anywhere.

Log In and start your training today!

Please note: You will still need to obtain range and behind the wheel training before you will be eligible to complete your CDL skills test.

Not a NDMCA member? Contact NDMCA at 701-223-2700 to learn how you can still take the course. Check our member directory.

Who does this apply to

Individuals wanting to:

  1. obtain a Class A or Class B commercial driver’s license (CDL) for the first time,
  2. upgrade from a Class B to Class A CDL,
  3. obtain a school bus (S), passenger (P) or hazardous material (H) endorsement for the first time.

What must new drivers do?

Complete training with a registered training provider. Entry-level drivers must select a training provider that is listed on the Training Provider Registry. Only registered training providers will be able to submit certification of a driver’s completion of entry-level driver training to the Training Provider Registry.